District 2

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this

Welcome to District 2 of the Texas Library Association! Our District's membership includes over 200 Librarians, Staff, Trustees, full-time Library students, and other interested individuals representing school, public, academic, and special libraries. We are located in the Panhandle. The only major metropolitan area within this region is Amarillo (pop. 173,627) Other cities in the Panhandle with a population over 10,000 include Borger, Canyon, Dumas, Hereford and Pampa. Its land area is 66,883.58 km² (25,823.9 sq mi), or nearly 10 percent of the state's total. There is an additional 162.53 km² (62.75 sq mi) of water area. Its population as of the 2000 census was 402,862 residents, or 1.932 percent of the state's population.

TLA District 2 is one of 10 systems in the Texas Library Association. The 26 counties that make up District 2 are: Armstrong, Briscoe, Carson, Castro, Childress, Collingsworth, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Donley, Gray, Hall, Hansford, Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Lipscomb, Moore, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman, Swisher, and Wheeler in the Texas Panhandle.

Created on Mar 21, 2010 | Last updated June 07, 2017