New Texas Bluebonnet Award Coordinator Named

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this

Jacqui Bridges-SheppherdJacqui Bridges-Sheppherd of Arlington, Texas has been named the 2019-2022 Texas Bluebonnet Award (TBA) coordinator. As one of the largest and most well-known TLA affiliated reading lists, the TBA is a unique program for students in grades 3 – 6 that encourages reading for pleasure.

Each year, 20 books are chosen for the Texas Bluebonnet Award Master List by the TBA selection committee. Students who read a minimum of five books from the current master list (or have the books read aloud to them) vote for their favorite title during January each year. The author of the book receiving the most votes statewide is declared the winner of the Texas Bluebonnet Award.  In 2018, 1488 institutions participated and 141,141 students voted. 

After serving a one-year internship with the current TBA Coordinator, Sharon Lawler, Bridges-Sheppherd will become the TBA coordinator at the close of the TLA Annual Conference in April 2019. She will serve through the close of the 2022 conference. In addition to administrative duties associated with operating the TBA program, she will guide and direct the program’s educational focus, advocate for the program, and provide support and guidance to participating libraries.

Over her 33 years in education, Bridges-Sheppherd spent 24 years at Arlington Independent School District, retiring after 21 years as an elementary librarian.  She served the district as president of the Public School Librarians of Arlington (PSLA), chaired the Battle of the Books, and coordinated the first student-hosted Young Authors Conference while at Fort Worth ISD. Additionally, she was AWARE (Arlington Will Award Excellence) runner-up and Teacher of the Year.

Bridges-Sheppherd is a long-time, active TLA member. She is a graduate of TLA’s TALL Texans Leadership Institute, served as chair of the Children’s Round Table, and as a member of the TLA Conference Program Committee and Texas Bluebonnet Award Program Committee. In 2009, she was honored with the Siddie Joe Johnson Award which recognizes outstanding achievement in children’s library service. Currently, she is a member of the TBA Selection Committee.

Created on Apr 24, 2018 | Last updated April 24, 2018