You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Join TLA

TLA Governance

The Texas Library Association, headquartered in Austin, Texas, is a 501(c) 3 organization governed by a Council comprised of both voting and non-voting members. Voting members are the president, president-elect, past president, treasurer, ALA councilor, five representatives-at-large, and one councilor from each division, district, and round table or an alternate designated by the unit. Non-voting members are chairmen of standing committees and ad hoc committees, executive director, journal editor, association legal counsel, chairmen of statewide organizations affiliated with TLA, and the parliamentarian. At least two meetings are held each year at the Annual Conference and at Annual Assembly. As the association’s policy making and chief governing body, the Council adopts the annual budget and the legislative platform.

A general membership meeting is conducted during the Annual Conference to give members an opportunity to discuss professional and association concerns, and to make their opinions known.

The Executive Board, which serves as the central management board of TLA, recommends matters of policy, budget, and operations to the Council. Board members, who are elected annually by the entire membership, include the president, president-elect, past president, ALA councilor, treasurer, five representatives-at-large, and the executive director as secretary and non-voting member.

Core Organizational Values

Envisioned Future

Any library, any person, any time! Each and every Texan recognizes the value that libraries bring to their lives. TLA enables libraries in Texas to offer open access to information resources and services to all people. The people who work for and support Texas libraries add significant value to the lives of all Texans.

TLA is a positive role model and valued leader, partner, resource, and advocate for Texas libraries. TLA reaches Texas communities, expanding access both physically and virtually, to bring literacy and lifelong learning to the forefront. TLA seeks innovation and sustainability of resources to connect and inspire all Texans to grow, learn, and reach for excellence.

Standing Committees

TLA 2016-2019 Strategic Plan
TLA Bylaws
TLA Standing Rules
TLA Organizational Chart

Join or Renew Your TLA Membership!

Receive discounted TLA2019 registration and more!