You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Join TLA

Wayne Williams Project of the Year

Honoring a project exemplifying the highest level of achievement and professional standards.

The Texas Library Association Wayne Williams Library Project of the Year Award recognizes a project that showcases the highest levels of achievement, professional standards; and provides inspiration to other libraries. The project must have been operating during the preview calendar year, may involve more than one library and is open to any type of library. The committee considers the breadth of the project and the extent to which the library has improved its service by means of the project. A cash award is given in memory of long-time bookseller, Wayne Williams.

Bee Cave Public Library won the 2022 Wayne Williams Project of the Year Award for their innovative Candyland program, a community-wide, life-size version of the Candyland game that children and families could play at four locations throughout the city of Bee Cave from January 23 to February 14, 2021, during the height of the pandemic. 

The four Candy Land locations were located at the library, the sculpture park, the city’s Central Park and on Bayton Drive off of Bee Cave Road. Each location included different activities as well as a riddle for participants.


Any TLA member may nominate a deserving library project for consideration. Nominations open September 15 and close January 31. All nominations must be submitted through the online webform.

Contact Christy Reynolds at TLA if you have any questions or need assistance.

Past Recipients

Wayne Williams Library Project of the Year Award




Latest News
View all News

Between the Lines: November Member Spotlight

Between the Lines: Member Spotlight, TLA Membership, TLA News

Nora Alicia Galvan Library Director, Pharr-San Juan-Alamo (PSJA) ISD Library Services Department What inspired you to become a librarian? My inspiration is the idea of teaching the young minds of […]

Read More

2023-2024 Texas Bluebonnet Award Master List Released

TLA Annual Conference, TLA News, TLA Reading Lists

The Texas Library Association’s (TLA) 2023-2024 Texas Bluebonnet Award (TBA) Master List was announced at the Texas Book Festival in Austin on Saturday, November 5, 2022. As is tradition, students […]

Read More