You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Join TLA
All News

Texas Library Association 2024-2025 Election Results

TLA News, Uncategorized

The Texas Library Association is pleased to announce the results of our 2024-2025 elections. These individuals will take office at the close of the 2024 TLA Annual Conference in April in San Antonio. Thank you to everyone that ran for office, and to all members that voted.

TLA Executive Board

  • President-Elect: Valerie Prilop, Senior Librarian, MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Representative-at-Large, Academic: Cynthia Rodriguez, Director of Library Services, Laredo College
  • Representative-at-Large, Public: Israel Favela, Collection Development & Cataloging Manager, Houston Public Library
  • ALA Councilor: Monica Babaian, Librarian, Fort Bend ISD

TLA Unit Election Results

The following units had contested offices and chose to participate in the TLA 2024-2025 online elections.

  • Children’s Round Table Chair-Elect: Adriana White, South San Antonio ISD
  • College and University Libraries Division Chair-Elect, Kelly Hoppe, West Texas A&M University
  • District 8 Web Administrator: Rebecca Guren, Katy ISD
  • Public Libraries Division Chair-Elect: Rachel Reeves, Denton Public Library
  • TALL Texans Round Table Secretary/Treasurer: Kim Herrington, Pearland ISD
  • Texas Association of School Librarians Chair-Elect: Katherine Harrison, El Paso ISD
  • Texas Association of School Librarians Secretary/Treasurer: Amanda Trowbridge, Keller ISD

TLA Bylaws Revisions

  • Article IX, Section 1 – Committees: passed
  • Article III-Membership: passed
  • Article IX-TLA Units: passed
  • Annual Assemble name change to Officers Governance Training and Workshop: passed
  • Conference Planning Committee name change: passed

Thank you to members of the nominating committees for your time and hard work.