You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Join TLA

District 5

Serving Northeast Texas

| Officers | Meeting MinutesOperating ProceduresEvents |

Welcome to District 5!

The District 5 Fall Meeting is virtual this year! It’s scheduled for November 2, 2021. Here is the agenda.

Register here

Our district’s membership includes librarians, staff, trustees, full-time library students, and other interested individuals representing school, public, academic, and special libraries. We are located in Northeast Texas.

District 5 is made up of passionate, clever, innovative, and ambitious people, and TLA is here to celebrate and support them. For some of our recent District 5 projects, take a look at our YouTube channel , Twitter page, and our Facebook page. We also benefit from fundraisers managed by our members, like this Cafepress store.

We also hold meet-ups most months, which are fun networking/social meetings at restaurants in the district. We have district business meetings yearly at TLA Annual Conference, TLA Annual Assembly, and our District 5 Fall Conference. For more information about joining or participating in district activities, email the District Chair.

If you would like to volunteer with TLA, please fill out this form: Volunteer

TLA Thanks Our District 5 Fall Conference Sponsors:

District 5 includes 33 Texas counties:

Anderson, Bowie, Camp, Cass, Cherokee, Collin, Cooke, Dallas, Delta, Ellis, Fannin, Franklin, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Henderson, Hopkins, Hunt, Kaufman, Lamar, Marion, Morris, Navarro, Panola, Rains, Red River, Rockwall, Rusk, Smith, Titus, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood.

District 5 Events

District 5 meets at Annual Conference in the spring, Annual Assembly in the summer, and at Fall Meeting (in the fall). We also hold quarterly informal networking meet-ups. See our Facebook page for updates! For past events, click here. For the TLA events calendar, click here.

Operating Procedures

Our operating procedures outline the officer positions in the district and the officer’s duties, as well as election procedures, and nominating committee procedures. Current operating procedures were approved July 10, 2019.

District 5 Operating Procedures

View Word Document



Conference photo

conference photo

conference photo


Click below for District 5 officers and contact information

headshot of David Raley

District Chair
David Raley

Past Chair
Mary Lynn Saxton


Chair Elect
Stephanie Milberger

Ashley Taylor



Deborah Zeman

headshot of Laquita Dedmon

Laquita Dedmon

Meeting Minutes

Would you like to stay up-to-date about what’s going on in District 5? Click the links below to review the Minutes from the District 5 Executive Board Meetings. If you have any questions or would like to know more about how you can attend and/or participate in District 5 events, please contact District 5 Chair.

MoreLess Details


Facebook button

Join or Renew Your TLA Membership!