You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Join TLA

District 7

Serving North Texas.

Welcome to District 7! Our district’s membership includes librarians, staff, trustees, full-time library students, and other interested individuals representing school, public, academic, and special libraries. We are located in North Texas. District 7 includes 20 Texas counties: Archer, Baylor, Clay, Cottle, Denton, Erath, Foard, Hardeman, Hood, Jack, Johnson, Montague, Palo Pinto, Parker, Somervell, Tarrant, Wichita, Wilbarger, Wise, and Young.

We have district business meetings yearly at TLA Annual ConferenceTLA Annual Assembly, and our District 7 Fall Conference. For more information about joining or participating in district activities, email the District Chair.

District 7 Officers

Chair: Jennifer Rowe, University of North Texas Libraries
Chair-Elect: Karen Smith, ESC Region 11
Secretary and Treasurer: Lisa Smant
Councilor: Bernadette Trammel, Lewisville ISD
Alternate Councilor: Nikki Stroud, Azle ISD
Webmaster: Mylie James, Eagle Mountain-Saginaw ISD
Past Chair: Erica Stone Richardson

District 7 Operating Procedures
Fall Meeting

TLA District 7 Fall Meeting

Partnerships that Work for Our Community

Friday, October 5, 2018

Lunch Provided

This event will have something for everyone, with sessions of interest for academic, school, public, special librarians and library workers as well as students in the library science field.

The focus will be on partnerships, collaborations, and alliances that benefit our community and our patrons. Resources will be provided, anecdotes will be shared, networking will happen, and lunch will be hot!


Lewisville Public Library
1197 W. Main Street
Lewisville, TX 75067

Register here: 
Membership in TLA is not required to participate.
Registration Fees include Parking and Food.
TLA Member: $25.00
Non TLA Member: $35.00
Student & Paraprofessional: $20

Students can apply for a scholarship that covers the price of registration for the District 7 Fall Meeting and membership in TLA for one year. The deadline for District 7 applications is September 28, 2018. Read more about the scholarship and apply here.

Past Meetings

2017 Fall Meeting – Friday, September 29, 2017 at Texas Woman’s University, Blagg Huey Library
2016 Fall Meeting – Friday, October 21, 2016 at The University of Texas at Arlington’s Library
2015 Fall Meeting – September 25, 2015 at the Fort Worth Museum of Science and History
2013 Fall Meeting – October 12, 2013 at the UNT Willis Library

2013 TLA Annual Assembly – July 9, 2013 in Austin
2013 Spring Caucus – April 24, 2013 at the TLA Annual Conference in Forth Worth, Texas

2012 Fall Meeting – October 5, 2012 at the Texas Woman’s University Library, Denton, Texas
2011 Fall Meeting – October 6, 2011 at the Denton Independent School District, Denton, Texas

2010 Fall Meeting – November 13, 2010 at the Trinity Valley School, Fort Worth, Texas

2009 Fall Meeting – October 24, 2009 at UNT Discovery Park

2009 TLA Annual Assembly – July 28, 2009 in Austin

2009 Spring Caucus – April 2, 2009 at the TLA Annual Conference in Houston

2008 Fall Meeting – October 3, 2008 at the Colleyville Public Library

2008 TLA Annual Assembly – July 8-10, 2008 in Austin

2008 Spring Caucus – April 17, 2008 at the TLA Annual Conference in Dallas

2007 Fall Meeting – September 29, 2007 at Texas Woman’s University

2007 Spring Caucus – April 14, 2007 at the TLA Annual Conference in San Antonio

Join or Renew Your TLA Membership!

Receive discounted TLA2019 registration and more!


Latest News
View all News

And the 2019 Texas Bluebonnet Award Winner Is..

TLA News, TLA Reading Lists

The votes are in and Sergeant Reckless: The True Story of the Little Horse Who Became a Hero by Patricia McCormick, illustrated by Iacopo Bruno (Balzer & Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Pubishers, 2017) is the winner of the 2019 Texas Bluebonnet Award! This inspiring book tells the true story of Reckless, a brave little […]

Read More

Update: Texas Legislative Session

Advocacy, TLA News

We are a little over one month into the 86th Texas Legislative Session and the pace  is starting to pick up. Legislators have until Friday, March 8 to file bills and joint resolutions. To date, 3,045 House and Senate bills and resolutions have been filed. Governor Abbott gave his State of the State address in […]

Read More