You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Close
Search
Join TLA

District 8

Serving Southeast Texas and the Greater Houston area.

Welcome to District 8! Our district’s membership includes librarians, staff, trustees, full-time library students, and other interested individuals representing school, public, academic, and special libraries.

Volunteer

If you would like to volunteer with TLA/ District 8, please fill out this volunteer form.

We are located in Southeast Texas, including the counties of Angelina, Austin, Brazoria, Chambers, Colorado, Fort Bend, Galveston, Hardin, Harris, Houston, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Nacogdoches, Newton, Orange, Polk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Trinity, Tyler, Walker, Waller, and Wharton. That’s 28 counties in all!


Follow us!

Stay up-to-date by following us on social media. Join the TLA District 8 on Facebook and Twitter!


Contact us!

Crystal Hicks: hicksc@ci.nacogdoches.tx.us

Monica Babaian: monica.babaian@gmail.com

Carolynn Waites: CarolynnW@bcls.lib.tx.us

Kimberly Gay:  kimberly.michellegay@gmail.com

Cindy Goode:  goode@uhcl.edu

Stephen Vernon: stephen.vernon@houstontx.gov

Katherine Carter: kate.carter314@gmail.com

Jennifer Holland:  holland@uhcl.edu

Minutes & Operating Procedures

District 8 Operating Procedures

4.16.21 Annual Conference Business Meeting Minutes

 

 

Join or Renew Your TLA Membership!

 

Latest News
View all News

Meet TLA’s New Director of Education: Lovdy Grossman

TLA News

The Texas Library Association is delighted to announce that Lovdy Grossman has accepted the position of Director of Education at TLA, effective June 15, 2021. Previously, she was the Director of the Office of Conferences and Training at the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs at The University of Texas at Austin, a position […]

Read More

Between the Lines: June Member Spotlight

Between the Lines: Member Spotlight, TLA News

Laura Tadena, Equity and Inclusion Consultant Texas State Library and Archives Commission   What inspired you to become a librarian? I had been working for several years as a middle school math teacher, and after a couple of years, I noticed that reading comprehension was an area that many of my students were struggling in. […]

Read More