You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Join TLA

District 8

Serving Southeast Texas and the Greater Houston area.

Welcome to District 8! Our district’s membership includes librarians, staff, trustees, full-time library students, and other interested individuals representing school, public, academic, and special libraries.


If you would like to volunteer with TLA/ District 8, please fill out this volunteer form.

We are located in Southeast Texas, including the counties of Angelina, Austin, Brazoria, Chambers, Colorado, Fort Bend, Galveston, Hardin, Harris, Houston, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Nacogdoches, Newton, Orange, Polk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Trinity, Tyler, Walker, Waller, and Wharton. That’s 28 counties in all!


District 8

2022 Fall Conference

The Texas Library Association District 8 is engaged in planning this year’s district conference, to be held on the University of Houston-Clear Lake campus, Saturday, November 12, 2022.

UHCL’s address is 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058.

Membership not required to attend!
Check back for more details as they become available, or follow us on Facebook!


Follow us!

Stay up-to-date by following us on social media. Join the TLA District 8 on Facebook!

2022 to 2023 T-L-A District 8 Officers. Chair: Monica Babaian. Treasurer: David Palmer. Secretary: Brooke Corso. Webmaster: Cindy Goode. Councilor: Stephen Vernon. Councilor Alternate: Kate Carter. Past Chair: Jennifer Holland.


Contact us!

Monica Babaian

David Palmer

Brooke Corso

Cindy Goode

Stephen Vernon 

Kate Carter 

Jennifer Holland 

Minutes & Operating Procedures

District 8 Operating Procedures

4.16.21 Annual Conference Business Meeting Minutes



Join or Renew Your TLA Membership!


Latest News
View all News

Between the Lines: June Member Spotlight

Between the Lines: Member Spotlight, TLA Membership, TLA News

Liz Philippi School Program Coordinator Texas State Library & Archives Commission   What inspired you to become a librarian? I started volunteering as a library helper in third grade because […]

Read More

First-ever TLA Summit brings librarians together for one-day virtual conference

TLA News

The Texas Library Association’s first TLA Summit, on June 2, brought together librarians and library staff members from around the state for a one-day virtual conference that had sessions for […]

Read More