You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Join TLA


Promoting and improving libraries services to children and young people.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Please join me in congratulating Melanie Scales, the winner of the 2022 Siddie Joe Johnson Award!

Melanie has long been a librarian leader in her school librarian role at Spring Branch and Waller ISDs, as well as for TLA, serving as chair of the Children’s Round Table, and co-chairing the 2021 Annual Conference Program Committee (6 months into the planning!) She was a TALL Texan in 2010, and won the Librarian of the Year Award in 2014.

She developed the Bookworm Festival for emerging readers in 2014, and the festival is now nationally known and in 2020 (the last time it was held in person), the festival welcomed 1100+ attendees, more than 75% were young readers.

Let’s hear it for Melanie!

Sara Pope
Chair, Siddie Joe Johnson Award Committee

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Thank you to all who voted in the CRT election and to all of our candidates. Congratulations to our new officers:

Chair-Elect: Jennifer Eckert, Northside ISD
Secretary: Angela Barratt, Fort Worth Public Library
Councilor: Jenny G. Rodriguez, New Braunfels Public Library
Alternate Councilor: Bernadette Trammell, Prosper ISD

These new Executive Board members will take office at the close of the TLA 2022 Annual Conference. We appreciate their willingness to serve and lead!

Welcome to the Children’s Round Table (CRT)! Our goal is to promote and improve library service to children and young people, and to support those who serve them. We do this in three ways:

  • High quality book awards
  • Engaging programs at annual conference
  • Professional development through scholarship, recognition, and volunteer opportunities


Our members are librarians like you – working year-round to fulfill these goals and CRT is more than just amazing author panels at conference. We work all year to support our members as we grow together in our profession.

CRT is powered by our membership, so please consider becoming involved by volunteering to serve on one of our committees. We have a place for you. Get Involved!


Emma de Boer-Piedt, Chair, 2022-2023

Jennifer Eckert, Chair-Elect, 2022-2023

Emily Kupersztoch, Past Chair, 2022-2023

Angela Barratt, Secretary, 2022-2023

Jenny G. Rodriguez, Councilor, 2022-2025

Bernadette Trammell, Alternate Councilor 2022-2025

Jennifer Jaeger, Social Media & Webmaster, 2021-2024

Melanie Scales, Publisher Liaison


Awards and Stipends
Texas Bluebonnet Luncheon Chairs
Conference Program
Texas 2×2 Reading List
Little Maverick Graphic Novel Reading List

CRT Reading Lists

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

CRT Operating Procedures

*CRT Operating Procedures: Announcement* (July, 2021):

The Operating Procedures of the Children’s Round Table have been updated, including committees, TLA procedures, and a move to the TLA Internal Shared Google Drives.

View the 2021 CRT Operating Procedures here.

Follow us on social media:


Join or Renew Your TLA Membership!


Latest News
View all News

Between the Lines: November Member Spotlight

Between the Lines: Member Spotlight, TLA Membership, TLA News

Nora Alicia Galvan Library Director, Pharr-San Juan-Alamo (PSJA) ISD Library Services Department What inspired you to become a librarian? My inspiration is the idea of teaching the young minds of […]

Read More

2023-2024 Texas Bluebonnet Award Master List Released

TLA Annual Conference, TLA News, TLA Reading Lists

The Texas Library Association’s (TLA) 2023-2024 Texas Bluebonnet Award (TBA) Master List was announced at the Texas Book Festival in Austin on Saturday, November 5, 2022. As is tradition, students […]

Read More