You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Join TLA

SPOT Authors

The Spirit of Texas Reading Program-High School is intended for recreational reading, not to support a specific curriculum. Due to the diversity of this age range, Texas librarians should purchase titles on this list according to their individual collection policies. Each author featured on the list has had at least one book favorably reviewed for grades 6-12 in a professional review source.

2020 Suggestion Form 

Past Authors

2020 Authors


Recommended for Middle School

Rebecca Balcárcel

The Other Half of Happy

Lynne Kelly

Song for a Whale


Rex Ogle

      Free Lunch




Recommended for both Middle School and High School

Sylvia Acevedo

Path to the Stars: My Journey from Girl Scout to Rocket Scientist

Sherry Thomas

The Magnolia Sword: A Ballad of Mulan



Recommended for High School

Will Hill

After the Fire

Thanhhà Lai

Butterfly Yellow

Cheyanne Young

The Last Wish of Sasha Cade


Latest News
View all News

Edward Smith, Abilene Library Consortium Director, Appointed to Gov. Broadband Council

TLA News

Edward Smith, director of the Abilene Library Consortium (ALC), and long-time Texas Library Association member (TLA), has been appointed by Governor Greg Abbott to serve on the newly formed Governor’s Broadband Development Council. “ We appreciate that the library community will have a seat at the table as the Council works to identify barriers to […]

Read More

Between the Lines: January Member Spotlight

Between the Lines: Member Spotlight

Kathy Jones Hoffman Former Executive Director (retired) Research Medical Library, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center What inspired you to become a librarian? I started working in my neighborhood public library when I was a junior in high school. When I started college, I needed a part-time job, so I worked in the university […]

Read More